NL 2010/06

Special Prize goes to Vienna at European Museums Awards on 22 May 2010
- The Museum of Contraception and Abortion is given the Kenneth Hudson Award


The Museum of Contraception and Abortion (MUVS) has been recognized by the European Museum Forum for its “extraordinary achievement in raining public awareness of the museum’s mission and values”, becoming the first recipient of the Kenneth Hudson Award.


“With this award, Europe’s highest caliber museum specialists have given a strong endorsement of our educational work and encouraging support for our work going forward“, said the Museum’s Director, Dr. Christian Fiala MD PhD. “The museum is already highly valued by medical specialists working in the field of contraception and has become known around the world on account of its high standards. This prize spurs us on to continue with our educational work for and with young people.”


In May 2010, 160 participants from 22 European countries met for the 33rd annual meeting of the European Museum Forum, in the Finnish city of Tampere. Just 50 museums fulfilled the entry requirements and were evaluated in person by a jury panel. Of these, 16 museums, big and small, were able to enjoy a nomination. The nominated museums came from Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Germany, Greece, Great Britain, Holland, Ireland, Portugal, Russia, Spain, Switzerland and Turkey. All were either new museums established within the previous three years, or had undergone substantial reorganization in the previous three years. MUVS in Vienna has been open since March 2007.


Kenneth Hudson (1916 – 1999) was a British museologist, journalist and author who, through his presentations, books, articles and audio contributions, played a significant role in helping develop and shape the modern museum landscape. Amongst his other achievements, he founded the European Museums Forum and established the Annual European Museum Award.


This year’s other award-winners were the Stralsund Oceanographic Museum in Germany (Museum of the Year Award), the Museum of Natural Sciences in Brussels (Special Commendation), the Science Gallery in Dublin (Special Commendation), the Jewish Historical Museum in Amsterdam (Special Commendation). The Micheletti Award for technical museums went to the Spanish Agbar Water Museum and the Council of Europe Museum Prize went to the Portuguese Museum of Portimao.


Since 1977, 1700 museums from 40 European countries have taken part in the competition. Previous Austrian prizewinners are Joanneum (Graz, 1983), the Museum of Biometeorology (Zwettl, 1987), the Moorland and Peat Museum (Heidenreichstein, 1991), the Museum of Traditional Local Culture (Spittal/Drau, 1995), MAK - Museum of Applied Arts (Vienna, 1996), Inatura (Dornbirn, 2006) and Salzburg Museum (2009).


Museum of Contraception and Abortion, Mariahilfer Gürtel 37, 1150 Vienna, Open Wednesday to Sunday 2- 6pm